Assistance is first 4x5 for Landscape

michael_m_hoffman

I am looking to get my first 4x5 camera. My main focus will be landscape from hiking in the mountains to that special spot. I am looking in the used market and always have resale value in mind. I have been considering a Wista Field 45DX in Cherry or Rosewood and a Linhof Master Technika classic. I am a newbie at LF so thoughts and recommendations are welcome. Thanks in advance for your comments and suggestions.

Mike Hoffman

If you are a 'newbie' at LF, I would recommend you get an LF on loan to try out. The process requires the patience of a hindu cow, and the movements/symmetry etc do not necessarily come naturally to beginners. The camera you mentioned is superb and full-featured, but it will require time to set up and adjust. The one problem I have noticed with the Wista is discolouration of the brass fittings and arms (like rust); it is not a camera that takes kindly to use at the beach or high humidity, and definitely not in visible salt spray or rain.

The 90mm lens would be a useful "all-rounder", while a 65mm would give you a very, very wide view with a corresponding requirement to have a strong foreground "principal anchor/lead-in" rather than a swathe of nothingness. And a light meter will also be required, either for textbook readings of the scene or go int the deep end and become a Zonista! And lots...and lots of holders: nothing is more infuriating that having a beautiful scene in front of you and the last holder with the last sheet of film is all that is available when you just know that you want more.