Asked to do a wedding as a favour to Bride

markst33

Hi there, I have been asked to do the wedding of my wifes friend by the bride

as a favour as they are pretty broke. Of course I said yes (how could I not)

but I have never done a wedding before. Its in July here in Ireland so God only

knows what the weather is going to be like.

Anyway I am hoping that some of the more experienced members of PN will provide

me with some tips, suggestions and examples of problems they encountered and

how they resolved them.

The equipment I have is a Nikon D50 with the standard 18-55mm and a Nikkor 50mm

I would be lying if I said that I was not nervous at the thoughts of doing my

first wedding but I am trying to approach it as a challenge too so any and all

help no matter how small would be greatly appreciated.

Bring it on !!!!!

Something that might help others give you relevant advice is to also list your prior photography experience. Landscape? Portraits? Sports? Snapshots of family?

In meantime, there are books and websites on wedding photo techniques. They will be helpful. Use Google. Use your local library.

OK, I took a quick look at your Workspace. Family snaps and landscapes. It's a decent start.

Read books on wedding photography. Emulate what they do / say, as it's most likely to be tried and true. Attend a wedding ahead of time so you can observe what that photographer does (as far as how they direct the subjects).

Some may say not to even get involved, but if the couple is nearly broke, you're probably the only photo opp they have. Do your best to do a good job.

I'm sure others will give

http://www.photo.net/learn/wedding/

I'd also suggest these places:

Check out Strobist and Planet Neil for some discussions of flash photography and techniques you might want to work on. Joe Demb's site is oriented around using his products but also is informational.

http://strobist.blogspot.com/

http://planetneil.com/tangents/flash-photography-techniques/