Art School Graduate, Where do I find work?

<p> I went to SUNY Purchase college and graduated with a degree in photography. most of my skills rely heavily on traditional dark room practices. I have some experience working with photographers, working both in a studio and on location.<br>

Essentially i don't know where to start. i've been looking for jobs to work with other artists, but they are all intern positions. I'm fresh out of college and have no idea where to start looking for jobs. can anyone give me some advice?</p>

<p>Well first you could decide on what direction you want to move with your work. Commercial, advertising, portraits, weddings ? Then you could seek out some professional contacts near your area. I'm not sure what you mean by intern positions? I would get my foot in someones door and get some experience. And, do you have some digital training or just traditional, like me.....? I'm just doing some digital now, and it's like learning all over. Anyway get busy marketing yourself and good luck!</p>

<p>The program that taught you these skills <em>should</em> provide some kind of professional counseling. Did you ask your teachers and counsellors about where to go and what to do?<br>

Even for people with up-to-date digital skills, the job market is lousy, but you might consider going somewhere for some post-graduate work that would get you some digital training.</p>