Art Fair's any suggestions?

rod_melotte

<p>I had my first experience in an arts and Craft Fair to get a taste of what was involved. While I did make money (unlike most vendors) I know I have a lot to learn. I did have so many people say they loved my work but at $115 it was way way over anything else being sold so it was the $15 prints that sold. <br>

'<br>

It was the 1st event for this fair and I'm thinking maybe 500 tops attended. On a good note one other photographer asked if I had done Art Fair on the Square. Well for $500 10x10 event and juried $35 3/1 I said I had not even considered it. Then a professional photographer said said I would have no problem at all getting in.'<br>

.<br>

WELL - considering I have no booth I think this will be a goal for 2012 perhaps.<br>

'<br>

My question is this. are there any books that talk about doing fairs? suggestions on anything to read? stories . . ANYTHING> I have my idea for an outdoor booth but since I am totally new to this any bits of knowledge would be helpful. I'm a great talker, know what to focus photographically but I don't k ow what I don't know . . . .</p>

<p>ar eyou selling your art framed>?</p>

<p>I just came home from one - and editing photos as i type..</p>

<p>Since the person running it did not put me in any advertising, I made nothing. So, that is my tip for you. Make sure you have advertising :)</p>

<p>People going to art fairs don't usually spend 115 on one item, unless its a LARGE item. Unfortunately, they dont think of wall art that way...I think if you had it matted and framed you could do 90-115 - easy....</p>

<p>Better then framed - canvas - I was not expecting to sell ANY big items - had a lot of people pointing and taking cards and talking commission work (which is what I've been making money on the last few months). I feel it is more like advertising. I did have a few people asking where they can see my work, if I had a store. Had to point them to the Gallery in town. <br>

.<br>