Approaching a kitchen

stacy

I may need to shoot an interior shot of a kitchen as part of another job. I

haven't seen the kitchen yet and won't for about a week, but I'm trying to work

out my approach to lighting this. My initial thought is to use as much

available light as possible, make multiple exposures and maybe fill in any

black holes with a tiny bit of strobe...but this really is not expertise and

I'm sure there is a ton I'm not thinking about...

For those of you who shoot a lot of interiors how do you approach lighting

them? Any tips, pitfalls etc? Thanks!

Hi Stacy.

Though I'm not an expert, here are some thoughts that did come to mind. You might find them helpful.

1. Select a true wide-angle lens, so that you get as much of the kitchen as you can into your picture frame.

2. If you're shooting a digital SLR, set the White Balance to try and match whatever type of lighting they have. If you can afford to slow-down your technique a little, and spend about $80, you can get a gadget called the ExpoDisk, (www.expodisk.com) , and use it to set a custom white-balance that is fine-tuned to the ambient lighting of the kitchen. That will help you get accurate color tones, but you have to reset the custom white balance each time your lighting changes. (ie, each time to go to a different room).

3. If you are using your camera's pop-up flash, and want to see a more diffused lighting from it, they do sell another gadget that will slip down over the pop-up flash, and it acts like a mini-diffuser. They sell these at Wolf Camera & Imaging retailer stores. If the flash lighting in your inyteror shots is looking too harsh and direct, you may want to try using one of those. I think they cost about $25. Sorry, but I forget the name of the product.