Anyone using Nikon V2 to cover action?

robert_roaldi1

<p>I've been using a Nikon V1 for several months, but the only autofocus lens I have is the 10-30/3.5-5.6 VR kit zoom. I'm not sure how much difference there may be with the V2 in terms of AF and shutter response. (I've also used manual focus lenses, via a Fotodiox adapter, but you may not be interested in that.) I'd consider it adequate for kids sports and most amateur adult sports in daylight with the variable aperture kit zoom. I haven't tried it with the faster 10/2.8 or 18.5/1.8 so I don't know whether those would be adequately fast for indoor sports or nighttime high school football stadium lighting.</p>

<p>While not a professional level sports camera, the V1 seems quick enough for some action oriented situations - street photography, kids and live theater. I do mostly candid photography and find the V1 very satisfactory for most fast moving situations - but I don't shoot sports anymore. The shutter response and AF are very quick - entirely comparable to my Nikon D2H dSLR. AF is very quick in daylight with the kit zoom, and remarkably quick and positive in dim room light despite the slowpoke variable aperture zoom.</p>

<p>Indoors, in approximately EV 6 typical room lighting, the V1 AF is very quick with the 10-30 kit zoom at 10mm to 14mm, where the maximum aperture is around f/3.5 to f/4. But it becomes sluggish beyond the 14mm focal length where the maximum effective aperture is around f/4.5 to f/5.6. Like most AF systems it needs a faster maximum aperture to work well.</p>

<p>The EVF is quite good but can't match a dSLR optical finder. Still, I've found it adequate for snagging peak action with fast moving kids and live theater. There is a bit of lag in the EVF but I've adapted to it. And I haven't found the slight lag in the time it takes for the EVF to turn on to be a problem, even with candid photography, but some folks find it annoying.</p>