ANYONE OWN ONLY ONE PRIME LENS ? ( 5D +35L )

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by jon_kobeck|1, Dec 12, 2009.

1. I do mostly fine art photography. I have owned several lenses at various times over the years. But the lens I use 99% of the time is the 35L on a 5D.
    I read that Henri Cartier Bresson used a 50mm for his entire life.
    Just curious if I am the only one using one prime lens exclusively?
    Does anyone think I am missing out on something?
    And I know this does not apply to wedding or commercial photogs.

2. Such a romantic notion: a man and his one lens. When I was a starving student I only had one lens and it was a 50mm prime. Now I have a lot of lenses. More than I can carry. However I can only use one at a time so, for that moment, I'm exclusive and feel like a starving student again. Actually I haven't removed the 50 1.2L from my 5Dii since last summer so the nostalgic rush just goes on and on.

3. In a sense yes, but probably not how you think. I have only one prime: 85mm 1.2L orig. On the other hand, I have other lenses that are all zooms.
    That being said, there are certain types of photography that I do and want to get better at just because I love what this lens can do. Presumably if your interests in photography were specific enough, you could quite happily use one lens and never 'miss out' on anything that didn't raise your heart rate. It's about what intrigues you.
    The real question is, "Do you feel limited by only having one lens at this point in your exploration of photography?"

4. HCB reportedly owned lenses ranging from 35mm to 85mm. He also lived in an era in which primes were the only option - I wonder if he would so limit himself today?
    The "do you feel limited" question seems odd to me. I would certainly be limited in my own photography if I only had a 50mm prime to work with. Which is not to say that I don't occasionally go out with just a 50mm prime on my camera.