Anyone have experience with a Wirgin Auta?

Discussion in 'Classic Manual Cameras' started by dave_leonard, Sep 20, 2004.

1. I just picked up an old Wirgin Auta in good mechanical condition. It
    has a Gewironar 10.5cm f-4.5 lens. I would like to know if anyone
    here has actually used one of these, and how good a lens this is. I
    think that it's design is similar to a Tessar. Haven't heard if it
    takes pictures as good as the other lenses from that time.
    Thanks for any info.

Dave

2. Why not give it a roll to try?

Tessar was very good design for its time; just be sure to close it to 8 or 11, cause tessars tend to be too soft when wide open.

3. I have no experience with this camera. But I don't think the Gewironar is a Tessar design. Except for some high-end models most folding camera manufacturers used three-element lenses, and I have not heard of any 4-element lenses except for the Tessar, Xenar, Elmar, Skopar and Meyer Primotar lenses used on pre-war cameras. Also, most camera manufacturers tried to profit from the reputation the well-known 4-element lenses had, and I have severe doubts that Wirgin used a 'no-name' 4-element lens.

However, there are three-element lenses which perform surprisingly well, like the Meyer Trioplan.

4. Using a point source light, I get the same amount of reflections on the back of the Gewionar lens as a Skopar. The Kodak triplet has one less reflection. This, and the fact that it is f 4.5 instead of the more common f-6.3 used in many triplets, makes me think it's a Tessar type of lens. From what I've read, Wirgin was quite popular in Europe during the 30's and 40's. The camera is very well built, whith the shutter/lens assembly being very rigidly attached when in the unfolded ready to use position.
    Here is all the technical info I've got, sent from a member of another forum.

"The lens Vade says the following:

Wirgin Bros, Wiesbaden, Germany.
    Gewironar f6.3 105mm on Wirgin 6x9cm rollfilm.