Any experience with Kurland photo/eBay stores?

tow_teo

I'm new to this forum and to the world of Leica. I'm currently in the

process of acquiring my very first M system, and the web site by

Andrew Nemeth has been a good starting point for me. I have heard

mixed opinions regarding ebay for equipment buying/selling. What

about (reputable?)shops who post their used equipment on the ebay?

Some I have come across include Precision-camera, kurland photo, etc.

In particular any experience with the latter? I'm new to online

shopping and ebay, so I greatly appreciate your kind advice.

Thanks.

Definitely, stores with a good reputation try and uphold that reputation on eBay. You'll see it in the prices their items fetch. Stores with a wretched reputation (like the notorious Cambridge Camera Exchange of New York, who trade as Cambridge Camera, Cambridge Photographic, and Air Watches on eBay), maintain that same reputation on eBay, as evidenced by their horrible feedback.

Dealing with solo players is more of a risk on eBay.

What counts also is good return privileges. That can overcome a seller who doesn't have any photographic reputation, per-se. I got a Summitar for $66 from Auction Drop, because nobody trusts that sort of place for photo gear, but they (and their feedback) made it clear that they are 100% friendly about returns. Turns out it was gorgeous.

The one extra problem with Leica M equipment is that it is so expensive, and is luxury goods, that the THEIVES also prey on people trying to buy them. If a Leica M items looks too good to be true on eBay, it IS too good to be true. Those are the "money in, nothing out" ripoffs. There are too many Leica shoppers on eBay for there to be super bargains -- eBay is a rather "efficient" marketplace in terms of setting prices.