Any converted Pentax users here? Should I switch?

dan_tripp

<p>I am a portrait and wedding photographer and have several Pentax cameras and lenses. I now have a 24inch iMac and now that I see larger images, I have noticed that my pics are not as great as I thought they were. When I zoom in 1:1 or 2:1 in Lightroom the faces always look blurry and the eyes are not sharp. I have a few question for the Nikon people here.<br>

1. When you zoom in on a picture in Lightroom or Photoshop to 100 or 200% how sharp and focused are your pictures? Can you provide examples?<br>

2. Any Pentax users convert to Nikon, if so, why and what are your results?<br>

3. I'm thinking about buying a Nikon but don't know which to purchase. I'm looking at the D90, D300, or the D700. The D700 is a big price jump, is there as big as jump in image quality?<br>

4. If I make the leap to Nikon, I will also want a backup body. Will a D5000 work as a backup and will the lenses work on all bodies?</p>

<p>Thanks.</p>

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>I'm not a Pentax digital user now (I used their film DSLR's a ways back), but their recent DSLR releases are well regarded.</p>

<p>To answer 3 and 4 however: there are lots of D90/D300s (APS-C/cropped frame) comparison threads here that you can check out. With the D300, you're pretty much paying for more autofocus points, autofocus speed, etc. The sensors perform very similarly. The D700 is full-frame so you're getting much more low-light, high-ISO performance, but all your stuff will cost more since you're buying full frame (FX) lenses.</p>

<p>The D3000 is a great camera since it's portable and compact. It does *not* have an autofocus motor built in. So the only lenses that will autofocus on them are AF-S (Nikon), HSM (Sigma) designated lenses, and Tamron lenses with built in autofocus motors.</p>