Another question about odd film development

lisa_r6

<p>Again, I am a photo teacher and until this year, I have not had any true problems with students and developing that I could not figure out, this is my second issue this year (crazy) and again, thank you so much to those who helped with my first one! This issue is: The emulsion during processing gets very sticky/tacky and comes off in the development process just a bit (flakes/bits appear in chemistry as it is spilled out), but if touched while hanging after the whole process you can literally slide the emulsion off the base in chunks, slimy chunks, but chunks! Once it dries all is good, except of course for the bits of emptiness that remain on the few unfortunate negs that lost their emulsion in parts. At first I thought it was temperature, but then even in lower temperatures (range of temp that was never a problem before) this problem continues. Then I thought it was the developer so I made a fresh batch and still it continues. Again here it is not every roll, every time, which is weird as the students all develop in groups using the same batch of chemicals with the same temp and the same times and the same types of tanks, etc. What is going on? I am so confused and I truly appreciate all the experienced responses here - I seek and am grateful for your knowledge! - lisa</p>

<p>What film? Some films, such as the Efke films (sold under various brands) do not have their gelatin emulsions hardened at the factory.<br>

What temperatures? You really want to be no warmer than 75 degrees Fahrenheit.<br>

What fixer? Is it a hardening fixer?<br>

Are you pre-soaking in water before development?</p>