Analog - Developing issues (white lines)

nikig

Hello.

I've been developing a couple of rolls 35mm B&W lately and my last roll got all this white thick lines in almost every photo (see link). The question is simple, what did I do wrong? (Don't want to make the same mistake again).

Misstakes I know I did whit this roll (Yes, I'm new to this):

• Didn't let it dry long enough (1h - 1,5h only)
  • Took quite some time to mount the roll to the spiral in the dark (It aint easy!!!)
  • Twisted the "gear" for rolling back the film on the Nikon F3 the wrong way before realising it goes the other way

My gear:

Nikon F3 35mm

Kodak Tri-X 400

Paterson dev tank

Dark bag for getting the film in the spiral

Precise measuring tools

Precise chemical thermometer

Div stuff you need

My process (based on Ilfords website):

Ilfotec DD-X Developer

20c 8min

1+4 mix (60ml dev + 240ml water)

Agitate according to Ilford website (First 10 sec and again for 10 sec at the start of every further minute + tap in the bench to dislodge any air bubbles)

Ilfostop

20c 20sec

1+19 mix (15ml stop + 285ml water)

One agitation

Ilford Rapid Fixer

20c 4min

1+4 mix (60ml dev + 240ml water)

Same agitation as Developer

Cleaning

20c 10min

Under running water

After 10min - applying a few drops of wetting agent + 1 agitation

Than I hang it up for drying (only did this for about 1-1,5h on this film)

Photos are quite poorly scanned but I can clearly see the lines on the negative so it's not my scanning process.

You'll find three example photos here:

18453438-orig.jpg

18453439-orig.jpg18453440-orig.jpg

Edited by nikig

Looks to me like a light leak in the camera back. The "streaks" along the sprocket holes are an indication.

Were it mine, I'd shoot some cheap C-41 and have a lab develop it to eliminate light leaks in the developing process as a source of potential problem.

If the camera is leaking light, replacement foam is cheap and is about a 10 minute job on an F3.