Am I really a "Prime" person at heart?

ejchem101

<p>Sooooo...</p>

<p>I've gone out, an purchased some nice used zoom lenses, because they were convenient and fairly affordable. They work. I've got the 17-40L and the 70-200 F4 L. I've been using them for a couple of years. However I find that I LOVE my 50 1.8 because of it's smaller size and is so less noticeable, and I don't mind zooming with my feet.</p>

<p>However, I've been reluctant to pick up other prime lenses because I feel like they are covered by my zooms. I guess I am probably most tempted by the 85 1.8, I do senior portraits for fun, and it sounds like it would be a great lens for it. But can I really justify using the 85 1.8 when I have the 70-200 F4? At some points I've thought of ditching the zooms all together to help fund a couple of primes in their place.</p>

<p>Opinions?</p>

<p>First, you can't really zoom with your feet. The whole idea is to use the focal length that gives you the spatial relationships and covers the angle of view you are interested in. Using your feet totally puts the spatial relationship part in the back seat--and sometimes that can be ok!</p>

<p>I have always shot with primes until I got my digital 35mm camera and then went totally the other way--all zooms. The main reason is because of what I shoot with it and the flexibility they give for those things I mentioned above--spatial relationships are important to me as is the field of view. But I never had any issue with changing lenses on my MF or LF cameras either. So, it is a matter of choice and getting used to working this way or that.</p>

<p>Like Dan <em><strong>I like those three lenses particularly</strong></em> and I think the 35/2; 50/1.4 and 85/1.8 are the "GUTS" three value for (least) money prosumer prime lenses . . . the 85/1.8 is superlative IMO.<br>

I only added the 24 and the 135 to round out a very good value set of 5 Primes.<br>