Alternatives to Lightroom

<p>I've been on the fence for years wondering whether Lightroom is for me. Yes I did try it out a few years ago, but still couldn't make up my mind.<br>

I'm an amatuer, and probaly take around 200-400 images per month, probably about 10 - 20% of those are worth keeping.<br>

I already use Photoshop CS6 and think its terrific. I was just hoping for something to keep my images organized.<br>

So is Lightroom for me, or would something else be just as good for my situation ?</p>

<p>I can't speak to other software programs except for DPP, which I didn't like, but I'm an amateur too and I love Lightroom. It's perfect for me, but I'll start looking for alternatives if Adobe ever hides it in the Creative Cloud.</p>

<p>If the main goal is to keep them organised... there are several programs that do only that; for example Phase One Media Pro or IDImager PhotoSupreme. They do not have the editing tools that Adobe have, and their integration with Photoshop might be less than Lightroom's, as LR and PS can work very tightly together being both from Adobe. But they're very powerful tools for keeping track of your images.<br>

Lower end tools that can work quite well for organising images (which I take as keywording, sorting by date/keyword/EXIF data etc.) are Windows Live Photo Gallery, or on mac iPhoto. They do the trick, be it not as deep as the above mentioned tools.<br>

And there is Adobe Bridge, part of Photoshop CS6 - since you already have it, I'd start with that to see if it can fulfill your needs.</p>

<p>If you want a tool that integrates both organising plus all the basic editing that covers 95% of the usual work, then Lightroom and CaptureOne are the prime candidates; but if you're fine with doing the editing already in Photoshop, then spending extra money for functionality you won't use could be a bit a waste.</p>