All I have is 1 sb-600 ... What lighting equipment should I buy next?

cliff_m

Hi everyone,

I shoot a Nikon D300... My lenses are 50 1.8, 80-200 2.8 and the tokina 11-16 2.8. I am currently selling my 18-200 on ebay as we speak

in order to fund the 24-70 before it jacks in price.

With that being said, I am just getting into portraiture and would like to know some recommendations on lighting equipment to buy. I initially

figured I'd just get an sb-900 to be my main light and use my sb-600 as a remote flash for fill; however, I've been inspecting the photos

using alienbees and softboxes and find that those photos are much more pleasing.

I am interested in shooting outdoors and indoors on a white or black background (where would I buy these types of backgrounds?) Should

I buy a few alien bee b800's? What kind of power source do I need to purchase for these? What type of modifiers should I use? Do I need a

generator? etc.... Please go easy on me guys.. I'm just entering the world of flash photography and am finding it overwhelming.... but I am

excited to learn...

Any suggestions are welcome!

thanks

Cliff