Alien Bees

As I posted before Im a photographer that just graduated from photography

School. Im looking to get studio lights but to be honest i hear so much about

Alien bees. What sets these appart from other lights. I have a grand to

spend. and want to get quality. is Alien Bees the way to go or is their a

better route? I was interested in photoflex and photogentic are these crap?

Like i said i hear so much about these and these have sparked my interest

I've had a dozen White Lightning (same make as Bees)mono flashes for many years and I've been happy with performance and value. We use and abuse them constantly. I got rid of the power pack systems and much prefer monolights. I think the WL's are built better, but you're best to go through both web sites - both made by Paul Buff.

Doug

I dropped a White Lightning after about 4 years. Nothing worked. Fried! It fell over from a 10 foot stand. I sent it out on Monday overnight, got it back on Friday overnight delivery, the charge was $12 for the flash tube. They replaced a lot of stuff, but the tube wasn't covered! I called them saying I dropped it! They said it was under warranty.Again I said I dropped it! No charge! They have a 5 year warranty. AB's are 2 years. I will never buy anything but White Lightnings and I've owned several others throughout the years.

The worst was Photogenic. They worked great, but when they die it could be a few months before you get them back or just a few days. They sometimes cannot seem to get replacement parts. The techs told me that some of the parts are made in Germany.