Agfapan 25 is gone... Now what? TechPan 25???

nirmal

Hi,

I'm new to photography and I've been reading up on all the threads in

the Nature Photography forum to see which B&W films are most suitable

for Nature photography? I read some threads about Agfapan having

been discontinued, the differences between Agfapan and TechPan

(difficult to control contrast) and so on. I'm looking for a B&W

film with high contrast and fine grain (like most others, I suppose).

I was wondering what previous Agfapan users are using now... I mean,

now that Agfapan has been discontinued. Have you guys found some

other film that works for you??

Thanks in advance.

Nirmal.

it seems counter productive to change formats. If indeed nirmal is shooting 35mm, does it make sense to invest in a $3000 MF system just to get finer grain than current 100 speed films? If you shoot 35mm, and want the finest grained films possible, you have several options:

tech pan is the finest grained, but difficult to use and process compared to other films.

if you like classic films' grain, shoot pan f+

if you like modern films, shoot ilford delta 100 or tmax 100, etc.

I've shot them all, and keep coming back to pan f+ for 35mm, it's finer grained than the new 100 speed films. but i like classic grain, you may not.

It's not that expensive actually to move up in format. You don't have to buy a Hasselblad or a new Rollei to get the benefits of a bigger piece of film. A Yashicamat or Autocord for under $200, or a Bronica S2A for around $500 if you like an SLR will produce very impressive results compared to any 35mm system. There is also lots of used LF gear out there for not too much money, and for landscapes and still lifes (the most common use for slow films like APX 25), a view camera really is the best tool for the job.