Advise on upgrade plans

arturo_monterroso

<p>Hello all! I currently own a Nikon D3100 and I'm in need of an upgrade. Now I'm posting here in the Canon forum 'cause I'm considering upgrading to a Canon 70D. First, let me tell you why:</p>

<ul>

<li>Very good APS-C sensor (not the best I know, but still very good)</li>

<li>More megapixels (not a nut about this, but having more than 14MP is nice :))</li>

<li>Slightly better dynamic range (not hugely so, but it's an improvement nonetheless)</li>

<li>Excellent AF system (19 cross-type AF points, quick and accurate)</li>

<li>Better looking noise (yes, you read that right XD)</li>

<li>Lighter than FF bodies (D800s and 5Dxs have produced back and shoulder pain, I don't need that)</li>

</ul>

<p>Now, what do you guys think about this? The big factor for me is the AF system. I don't mind the ~2 stops less of Dynamic Range vs say a D7100, or the loss of ~4 megapixels or that the 70D has a AA filter. I'm not a pro, but I know that no sensor can fix an out of focus, badly lit photo, period. I need reliable AF during studio sessions, lit by the modeling lights of studio flashes (Bowens, Alien Bees and the like).<br /> I'm not a full time photog, but I do shoot for some local magazines from time to time. A few times I've borrowed a friend's D800, and I've also shot with a 5DII, 6D, L glass and all. They are nice rigs of course, but I cannot afford them. It's kinda hard for me to put that amount of money all at once. The 70D body is within my reach if I save up for a few months and do extra jobs on the side. The 6D is really nice, but I'm not sold on the 1 cross-type AF center point. If any of you can convince me otherwise please do.<br /> When I'm on a shoot I need to rely on my tools, mostly AF, because nothing sucks more than nailing a shot, but when you look at it on the computer screen it is slightly out of focus. <strong>I need a reliable and accurate AF system</strong>, which is why the 70D caught my eye. <br /> So