Advice pls on use of a work (church wants to use my image for their logo)

rich815

I have been asked by a church to use one of my images for their logo on their

signage, letterhead, etc. Sounds like pretty much perputual use and the image

will represent the church and be it's trademark. ("...We came across your

gorgeous photo and our search stopped immediately, it was exactly what we were

looking for. It would be used in a logo/image capacity for a community based

church...") Seems the name of the church and my image "gel". They end their

email by saying: "Please let me know what it would require to use this image

for our church."

I've sold my work often in the past (framed prints mostly) but other than a

local Sierra Club using one of my images for a postcard campaign, and a pub in

Korea using one of my images for an local ad I have little experience in

this. I'm guessing they are hoping out of the goodness of my heart, and for a

community-based church, that I'll just say "Go ahead!", but then again it's

not simply one-time use but seems they want my image to be their trademark and

represent all they are as a church from here on out. I'm a spiritual but not

religious person and have little interest in doing this out of any kind of

piety.

Any thoughts or ideas on how I should approach this? Or begin

communications? Or license such a thing?

Thanks to those who can share their experience in such matters.

Hmmh good idea, don't let them know they are dealing with a published pro, that helps keep their expectations low.