Hi,

I am not sure if this is the right place but here it goes... I am

looking to purchase my first editing tablet with pen for the PC but

there are a lot of different sizes and options. I have narrowed my

choice down to the Intuos 3 by Wacom but do not know if size will be

an issue or not. Does the size of the tablet matter much for general

photo editing, retouching, masks, etc. ??? Will the larger tablet

help resolution wise and therefore be a better choice? If so I would

love to hear which one might best fit my needs.

I have never used one before but want to get the right one the first

time around so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Norman Perkel

Norman, I use and have used the 6x8s for years for both a retouching and creation. The

size seems to be just right for just about everything. The larger ones take up a quite a bit

of room and are probably overkill unless you want to set it in the middle of the room and

do Jackson Pollock style work in photoshop or if you want a realistic paint stroke. The 4x5

on the other hand is just too small. Although you can customize the way the tablet maps

to the screen, the standard way to work with it in my experience is to have a 1 to 1

mapping from the tablet to the screen. ( the upper right hand corner of the tablet equals

the upper right of the screen. an so forth) with the smaller tablets I thought it felt

unnatural to move for short distances across the tablet to result in large distance on the

screen. This could just be that I have grown accustomed to the 6x8. I have found the

mouse that ships with the wacoms, however, is pretty useless on the 6x8 but might make

more sense with the larger tablets.