Advice keep Nikkor 70-210mm f/4-5.6 AF-D or upgrade to 55-200mm VR?

brian_choong

Previously I am holding a Nikkor 70-210mm f/4-5.6 AF-D, this lens is fast and

sharp for me.

But recently Nikon announce a new lens that is 55-200mm VR.

I wonder is this a good time for me to upgrade? Will the VR help alot?

I never try the 55-200mm VR, does anyone compare this two lens before?

Because what I worry is the 55-200mm VR is not as fast and sharp as my 70-210mm.

And also, I did saw some comparison the bokeh of this two lens on web, and seem

like the 70-210mm lens bokeh is better.

I have just bought a VR lens and have noticed a big difference in VR and non VR, the only reason being that more of my shots, not all that many but enough to make a difference, were sharper with the VR than not, so I had more to choose from. I am still new to photography and am still learning to shoot correctly in different situations but as I said, even as a amateure, I noticed a difference. I have the 80-400 which is slow to focus and I have no experience with the other lenses you mention.

VR has limited usefulness. VR won't doesn't well for moving subjects in low light. It really depends on what you are shooting and the lighting conditions you typically shoot under. I have several VR lenses and rarely have it turned on. Others have it on all the time.

If you are missing shots because you don't have VR and take a lot of landscape shots in lower light, you may want to try it and see if you like it. There are many stores that offer reasonable return policies without restocking fees.

I frequently shoot a 70-210 AF non-D with a F100. Sharpness and bokeh are among the best of all the lenses I've tried in this range. Given the economy it offers on the used market (mine was about $100 in like new condition), it's one of the best deals going. Optics in the "D" version are the same. I'd be careful about trading one of these for an unknown.