Advice for Novices

Discussion in 'Wedding and Event' started by chris_l|4, Jun 12, 2011.

1. Hi,
    A friend of mine has asked me to take photos for his wedding in lieu of a professional photographer. Before I ask though I will state my background (Just finished reading the "OMG" thread...)
    • I'm not a professional, I'd consider myself an avid amature,
    • I don't intend on making a career out of it and don't intend on stepping on toes or competing with businesses.
    • I've made it clear that for better quality shots they should hire a pro however they simply can't afford it.
    • I won't have the luxury of an assistant
    The equipment I have or will have is;
    • 50D with grip (2 if I get my way)
    • 50mm 1.8f
    • 18-200mm 3.5-5.6f
    • 70-200mm 2.8f
    • 430EX II (though I am trying to use only natural light)
    So after all that..
    Where would I best position myself during different parts of the ceremony?
    What should I be looking out for as far as lighting?
    What tips can anyone offer for crowd control as I won't be able to move the masses as I have seen some do in the past?

2. 1. What kind of ceremony is it? Church, inside but not church, outside? Makes a difference. Plus with churches (and other situations, too) you can only do what the officiant tells you is allowed. So if in a church, what are the rules? You can only answer this question if you know the above.
    2. Again--inside, outside? Time of day? I will say that going only with natural light is difficult with your lenses.
    3. Be polite but firm. Ask nicely, and if you don't get the behavior you want, get firmer in small steps. Let people take their pictures and then do yours, but keep it moving. Exert your status as "official photographer" if necessary.

3. What would you have answered if your friend had asked you to do some dental work, as he couldn't aford a professional.......Just askin'?