Advice for film that scans WELL?

Man, I am going to sound like a complete newb and an idiot here all

at the same time even though I've been into this for over a year,

but I'm so fed up and tempted to go all digital that I need some

serious help before that happends!<BR>

My wife and I really enjoy shooting with our manual focus Minolta

gear (X-700, X500 w/ motor drive 1, etc), but I just can't seem to

get good scans on a regular basis. Anyone able to help me out here?

<BR>I mean, I think our Panasonic DMC-FZ10 gets better results most

of the time, and I should be getting better with film than a 4mp

digicam! Right - I hope?<BR><BR>

So far films used include Fuji Reala 100, Kodak Gold 100, Fuji 200,

Kodak 200, and Polaroid HD 200, Fuji 400, Kodak 400, and Fuji 800

plus a few "off brand 100" films. I'm using a Minolta Dimage Scan

Dual III, and out of all these films, I get the best results w/

either Reala or Gold 100. A few shots have scanned pretty nice, but

never as good as I see photos on here, and the grain seems pretty

bad, and colors are off quite a bit - I have to tweak a lot in

photoshop. Am I doing something wrong, or are there other films I

should try that scan better? I was thinking maybe Kodak 160 or

400UC? I read somewhere that they are designed for scanning is that

true, or just marketing hype?<BR>

I'd really appreciate some recommendations, because I'd rather not

go all digital at the moment, but I can't seem to make film work as

good as it should...<BR>

Jed

Most film scanners have settings for certain specific emulsions. I haven't used it for a while, but I'm pretty sure my Minolta Dimage Scan Speed had a small number. I'd start by looking at which films have already been setup in the scanner software.