Advice for a newbie wedding photographer?

andy_sutterfield

<p>I've been shooting events and things professionally for a few months now. A guy called me up out of the blue and asked me to shoot his wedding. I told him straight up, you don't want me shooting your wedding, because I've never done one before and I know you'd want it done by an experienced professional. He said that's OK, him and his fiancee really like my work on my website and they think I can do a good job. So I hesitantly agreed to do this job.<br>

I'm good at getting well-lit and well-composed photos in lots of situations and lighting conditions, I'm just unfamiliar with all the little details and intricacies of weddings. I've shot a lot of events before.<br>

The equipment I'll be bringing is as follows: Canon 40D, Canon Rebel XTi, 17-85/4-5.6, 55-250/4-5.6, 50/1.8, 24/1.4L, 85/1.2L, 430EX flash, as well as an assortment of filters and other gear. The two L lenses are rentals, the rest is what I own.<br>

The wedding ceremony is outdoors around evening time, with an indoors reception afterwards. It's this Saturday, so I have 2 more days to get ready.<br>

Have I bitten off more than I can chew? Should I rent different lenses besides the 24 and 85? Any advice from more experienced photographers about what I've gotten myself into? Thank you!</p>

<p>Whether or not you've bitten off more than you can chew is something we can't say. Particularly since you don't have your website listed on your member page, so we can't see what you might have done before. Also what kind of events have you done a lot of?</p>