Advena 54 Enlarger

alex coleman

• 9 months later...

Dear Alex,

I've been using a Advena 54T enlarger for the last 10 years it is a dichroic colour head with two 300watt lamps. I only print B&W and this colour head allows for short exposure times and will give a true grade 5. When I first bought it (at an auction for a ridiculous price) I had to decouple the twin cooling fans as they were causing a slight vibration. This was done by removing the fans and mounting them on one end of a length of flexible air ducting the end being where the fans were located on the lamp head. I think the machine is very well designed & engineered and is built to last a lifetime. I don't have any operating instructions (if there is anyone outthere who does I would like to hear from you). Incidentaly the Advena company was set up by two ex DeVere engineers some time back in the '80's and I had the pleasure of meeting them at a trade show in the UK when they first demonstrated their enlargers. A search using Google should give you the UK agent. One small tip, I think that as the lamps are wired in serieswhen one blows they both go and will need replacing.

Hope this helps

John

Thanks For Your Reply John.

I didn't buy the Advena afterall.

Guy who had it was looking for too much money for it.

From the research I did on it I found it was a very early Model and was more liable to have some problems with Electric's and The Rollers on the column, than later models.

Possibly may go for a LPL 7452 if I can find one at reasonable money.

• 7 months later...

Hello Alex and John, I brought a second hand Advena enlarger, GEM 504,from ebay for ?215. It was originally on HMS Illustrious (which was up for a refit recently) so it must be good.

There was no instructions but I've been able figure out most of its capabilities. But I need a manual too.