Adding and Subtracting Contrast?

Hi, my name is Jaz, and I am new to the black and white film printing process. I haven't had much experience with manipulating contrast and I want to understand thoroughly how to use it as a tool to enhance my photos. I am wondering how to determine the appropriate time to add or lessen contrast. What do I analyze and look for in a print to know I should add magenta or yellow? All responses are greatly appreciated. Edited by jazlynquish

A good resource is Kodak's "Black & White Darkroom Dataguide", or their "Creative Darkroom Techniques", or even Ansel Adam's "The Print". There are a variety of techniques to answer your question, starting with how the film itself was exposed and developed, and ending up with the types of paper used in printing, the exposure and development techniques, and the filters used. You could just experiment around, which is probably a good way to learn, but expensive. Best to get some solid education on the processes in first, before deciding how to best experiment...it will save you money and frustration in the long run.

It is called "black & white" because those two extremes should be somewhere visible in your final print. If your print looks grey & grey, it lacks contrast. If too huge areas of your print turn out balck and white it might be time to reduce contrast. Use test stripes, not entire sheets of paper. -Place them into the darkest and lightest part or if you are shooting people to see their eyes printed.

Maybe a local library has some book on darkroom stuff?

A warning: Until you are really experienced better always do another round of test stripes when you determined to change your contrast. - If you are going for more correct exposure becomes harder to hit. If you are going for less something might suddenly look wrong. Also your color head's filters will alter exposure time / need compensation.