Acquired 3 lens boards but don't know much about them

jon_wason

Last summer I acquired 3 lens boards but don't know much about them. There were part of a huge collection of photographic equipment from an 80 year old man. I have been shooting with 35 cameras since the 1970s and know a thing or two, but this is different. I have learned a bit. Now I know that there is magnification factor with large format. all are in very nice condtion and the boards are 4 inches square. One is a Wollensack f6.3 21 cm (210mm) with a press compur shutter. I know Carl Zeiss Jena has a reputation for quality,

One is a Rapax Wollensack 90 mm f6.8 raptar on a silver board some sort of metal. The third one is also a Rapax Wollensack 90 mm f6.8 raptar. This one on a black wooden board marked Burke and James Chicago.

I am asking for a bit of info about how I can use these and what they may be worth.

IMG_3268a.thumb.JPG.c429a8fdec4882c69e3815b9d6237746.JPG

Size? Thickness? Profile?

Nearly all lensboards look much the same at a distance, and they're pretty much a disposable item. It's the lenses and shutters that have the most value, and they can be easily transferred to the lensboard of almost any other camera.

Also, a smaller board can sometimes be mounted onto, or into, a larger adapter board for another camera.

The boards look quite small in comparison to the shutter size. Together with the synchroniser solenoids, I'm guessing they might fit a Graflex press camera, but without knowing the dimensions it's hard to tell for sure.

Also, lens condition and shutter functionality will greatly affect their value.

I'll take a wild guess. The one of the left looks like it fits an old Calumet 4x5. Maybe DIY. If it has a ridge on the back it would be factory, but it could fit a lot of things. The two on the right are almost certainly Graflex. The Rapax would have been common on those and the Zeizz certainly a nice upgrade. Note that it's using a Press-Compur shutter.