Acadia Trip Suggestions

swapna

Hello All,

I am a newbie in this forum.I am planning to visit Acadia this fall,last week of september or first week of october.Is

that a good time to catch the foliage in its peak?? Also,I need all the help regarding locations to shoot sunrise and

sunsets,any secret locations,your favorite location etc. Any help would be great.I am primarily interested in

landscape photography. I will be there for 3 days. Please help me plan my trip.

Thanks & Regards,

Swapna

We were in Acadia three years ago in late Sept and early October, and found that foliage had not yet started

turning. In my opinion, Bass Harbor (Don't miss the much photographed Bass Harbor Light, but be careful on the

rocks.), Southwest Harbor, and Northeast Harbor were more interesting to me than Acadia NP. That's just me.

Don't miss Thurston's Lobster Pound while you're in Bass Harbor. Lots of interesting things to shoot around

Thurston's and the docks.

Another thing you might want to try is to catch the mail boat leaving out of Southwest Harbor (I think that's right.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong about that.) It's not very expensive, and you get a nice boat ride to several

islands and villages.

Even if the the foliage has not started turning, there's still lots to keep you busy shooting.

First of all, it is not always easy to time the peak of foliage season as it can vary from year to year,

but generally speaking, you are better off visiting Vermont and New Hampshire during the 1st week of October because they are at higher altitude. Along the Maine coast, the peak is usually around mid October. However, I would err on the early side. If you are a week before peak, it can still be very good. After peak, the bare trees will turn ugly very quickly.

If you are planning to stay at a Motel in Bar Harbor, it is a good idea to book ahead of time to avoid any surprises.