A Mamiya C330 saga

wogears

I have a Mamiya C330f that I’ve used for quite a few years. I had to re-foam the viewing screen and add light seals, but otherwise it worked well except that one of the focusing knobs was bent. This made focusing difficult because my fingers kept getting stuck. After a while, I found a parts C330 body for $35 from KEH via eBay. The original plan was to take a knob from the parts cam. and sell the focusing screen from same for $35. Then I started playing with the parts body, and all of the mechanical stuff worked. I then took the bent knob and banged on it until it was mostly fixed. I stuck it on the parts camera, put a lens on and the waist-level from the 330f and shot a test roll. Perfect. No light leaks, advance correct, etc. In fact. my negs somehow looked sharper—maybe the split-image on the new body worked better for my aging eyes. I’ve bought a chimney finder from eBay, so each body will be ready for use. “Les, why do you have two Mamiya TLRs?” “They just grew.”

I found a parts C330 body for $35 from KEH via eBay.

I then took the bent knob and banged on it until it was mostly fixed.

When anyone asks me why I choose the "mediocre" Mamiyas as my TLR, some version of the above is my answer: they have got to be the most simplistic, repairable 6x6 cameras ever made. Not "repairable" in the sense you can send them out to only two or three octogenarian gurus with a foot in the grave, who charge twice what the camera is worth to service it: I mean repairable in the sense that any halfway-intelligent owner can DIY fix 90% of potential issues. And there really aren't that many potential issues: unless abused by the Incredible Hulk, about all that ever develops is sticky shutters in the lenses, haze/fungus in the lenses, film advance glitches, or (rarely) pinholes in the bellows.