A "good" flash for my 300D for $75?

robert_thommes

Someone want's to give me $75 for Xmas to spend on "camera stuff".

About the only thing I really don't have is an external flash. I

take very few flash pictures anyway, but something like this might be

fun to have. So I come to you for advice on what you think I could

get for this amount(likely used, I would guess). How much automation

would I have with your recommended unit? In other words, how much of

the operation would I need to set manually, and whatif anything,

would the camera and/or flash determine for me in my particular

situation of the moment? I'm really a novice at this.

Thanks

if this if your first flash, I would definitely go on eBay and get the Sunpak 333. Cheap at $15 (enough to buy two if you want, as a backup), much more power per dollar than anything else, and you might find that it is just as consistent to use in auto mode as the latest TTL technology. Plus it has manual mode, and can bounce AND swivel. do yourself a favor and get a sunpak 333.

Buried deep within my camera drawer, I found a Sunpak 344D Thyristor flash. It seems to test fire with new batteries that I just put it. Would the Sunpak 333 suggested above give me any greater "ease of operation" than this 344D? Or is the same amount of brain effort required for both? I want something inexpensive that gives me the most no nonsense operation. Something where I don't need to be all that concerned about the image outcome, reasonably so---and yet for $75

<p>if it were <em>my</em> 75 bucks...</p>

<p>1. <a href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=71084&is=REG&addedTroughType=search" target="_blank">sunpak

355AF</a> for $50 shipped:</p>

<p>the sunpak 355AF has a decent guide number of 86 feet at 35mm (120 feet at

85mm), TTL capability, and a bounce head for ceilings and catchlicht cards.

i owned one and used it in concert with a nikon N80 at "normal" focal