A Curious Quandry

Just wondering (blame the NyQuil)...<p>If the purpose of street photography is to hold a mirror up to society, and if

that mirrior is to reflect society's realism(s), why then does a disproportionate amount of street photography continue

to be done in black-and-white instead of color?<p>I am a street photographer. I've presented most of my images,

over the years, in black-and-white. Lately, I am wondering why.<p>Is the use of black-and-white the photographer's

way of offering a <i>mise-en-scene</i> influence on an image that is supposed to be based in nearly objective

realism? Is it all, any, or none of this?<p>Michael J Hoffman

maybe because B&W has a documentary-like quality to it, especially film. think noir movies, Life magazine, etc. for some its more classic. (also its easier to make a blurry B&W shot look interesting.)

with digital you have the option of shooting in color and converting to monochrome, so you can choose an aesthetic look to suit your own tastes easier.

if your mirror is a colored one, then shoot in 'vivid' mode -- there are no absolute rules you have to follow.

One of the reasons is to focus on the subject matter that is not color. Sometimes, not always- color can be a distraction from the intended

focus of

the picture, or it can become the primary subject itself. The grey scale can also be a primary subject. It's up to the photographer to decide

what the photograph is about and how

best to convey it.