I am a professional photojournalist about to be laid off, along with

7 other fellow photographers. The staff will go from 12 to 5, and

there will be an abundance of company supplied digital gear lying

around afterwards. My employer is offering to sell each of us our

photo kits at trade-in prices. I am thinking about purchasing the

gear and then flipping it on ebay as a way to boost my severance

package. Ethical? Who cares. My research into completed ebay

auctions says that my $2700 +/- investment could reasonably generate

sales of $4500 +/-, an $1800 +/- profit.

The risk is that the gear would not sell and I would be stuck with

gear that I am not interested in owning. I am getting out of the

business now while I am still young enough to pursue another career,

so I have no interest in any digital SLR gear. I own a Leica M kit

that will be my only photo gear. Simple is good.

The company offer is...

Heavily used but recently CPS serviced Canon 1D...$550

Lightly used 10D with grip...$350

Good cond. 16-35 2.8.....$650

Good cond. 70-200 2.8 IS...$900

Prices have yet to be agreed on for the 1.4x, 550ex and 420 ex.

Would you take the risk?

I would easily say that you should go for it. Those are all things that keep their value and have been selling well on Ebay. An honest Ebay listing should get you a fair amount more for each item than you paid for it as each one of those items would still be a bargain at 1 1/2 the price you are paying.

I would happily make you an offer on a few of the items if you are interested but you might be better with Ebay.

David - what is your new career? is it 100% for sure? did you enjoy shooting as a career? IF you are a skilled shooter, and you know about digital processing, and you enjoy shooting generally, then it sounds like you might want to consider staying the course and shooting for yourself until the other career is set.