90mm f4 Macro Elmar...I am impressed...

Discussion in 'Leica and Rangefinders' started by luigi v, Jan 21, 2007.

1. Dear Forum Pals, today I have finally scanned a few negatives shot during my recent trip to India (a
    photographer's heaven...!) and I must admit I have been really impressed by the results got out of the 90
    MME (without macro adapter, I am still looking for a good deal on that...anybody out there?)...This lens is
    a joy to use, very light, perfect for street photography, portrait and even architecture shots...!!!
    Nice bo-keh, sharp enough, easy to handle and focus...a real surprise!
    I have uploaded a few shots from my trip in my Photo.net portfolio (I am a not very good photographer
    though but hey, I like taking pictures...) and it would be nice if some of you had the time and the curiosity
    to go and check them out and may be comment on it...
    Thanks guys!

2. another one...

3. here...

4. and another one...

5. here again...

6. Luigi: I really like images 1 and 3 in particular - interesting subject matter, good composition, good colour.
    And yes, it's a great lens. I suspect many will pass it by because f4 is thought to be 'unsexy', but I think it's unbeatable on several fronts: razor sharp, extremely compact, versatile.
    Keep looking for the macro adapter - they are rare secondhand, but worth having as the lens is a very competent macro performer. You will find the right angle finder very useful if you get the adapter...but that's more expense again!
    [​IMG]

7. Lovely, Luigi!

8. Nice photos. Thank you

My 90 4.0 50 2.8 35 2.0 make a grab and go kit for most anything.

I am becoming a fan of collapsible lenses. I will let you know about any deals on the macro adapter right after I find one for yours truely.