Familiar with 4x5, I am new to 8x10, and finding it challenging to

get some negatives fully in focus while retaining an f-stop of

around 22, this in the best of lighting conditions as far as

focusing is concerned, full sun with a contrasty subject. I am

using a 9-1/2" Dagor (779160), and have been trying to get an

understanding of its focus shift, which I have heard about. After

producing some negatives that could use some improvement in

terms of depth of field, I went out in full sun and focused on a

multi-plane subject (shed in a yard with objects in the horizon)

where movements would not help, and while viewing through a

4x loupe, made sure 1/3 in was sharp, then stopped down. As I

stopped down, more and more came into focus on the screen,

but focus also became harder to ascertain visually as the screen

gets quite dark with the smaller apertures, and screen grain

becomes more apparent.

How does one determine in what manner the plane of focus is

shifting as more comes into focus with stopping down? Are

there some helpful focusing guides with this type of lens?

Any helpful comments appreciated.

A little nose oil or vaseline on the GG will brighten up a spot to check focus when stopped way down. I've personally not felt that there is enough focus shift with Dagors to require refocusing, not even when a single element is used.

There are two issues here. The first is the ability to check focus and DOF as you stop down and the second is focus shift.