8x10 Enlargers HELP!!!!!

david_hughes15

I need help finding the right enlarger for my needs.

I know absolutely nothing about 8x10 enlargers.

I have been a professional photographer for 30 years and am a very good B & W printer

but have been digital for 7 years. I now need to make silver prints for fine art that I'm

shooting in 4x5 - 8x10.

My stuff is impressionistic, I don't need the perfection that say a architect photographer

may need but I want the best quality blk & white prints that I can possibly make from my

film & plates. 15 years ago I use to use diffusion and cold light heads leaning more

towards diffusion for my needs. I'm not sure what the equipment today is about or if it is

desired compared to the past.

Please any suggestions on which enlargers I should look into & where to look for them

other than ebay would be most appreciated.

I don't want anything high maintenance, hard to find used, crazy expensive or hugh in size

as my ceiling space is limited to 85.5 inches and 95 inches between floor joists.

I would like to be able to make prints up to 20 x 24.

Thanks!

I know little about specific 8x10 enlargers. However, as to places to look - Ebay is the obvious place. In addition, I think MidWest Photo Exchange still has a darkroom department, you might call and see if they have anything or can give you leads to someone who does. The guy who used to run their darkroom department (Juan?) was a nice guy and helpful. You could also post a "wanted" notice in APUG and in photo.net. And if you don't mind spending a few dollars you could post a "wanted" ad in the classified ad section of View Camera magazine. Finally, if you're in a metropolitan area you might check with some of the local labs. Most went digital and got rid of their 8x10s a few years ago but you might get lucky and find one for sale.