8x10 Cameras

ian_whitehead1

Merry Christmas to all,

I have been shooting 4x5 since 2001 and I am thinking of moving into 8x10 in

the new year. I shoot now with an Ebony 4x5 and it is wonderful but I don't

think I can afford an Ebony 8x10, I would like something fairly compact and

light 10 to 12 pounds, I am looking at the bottom end being A Tach. or a Shen.

and would go as high as the metal KB Canham if the quality really justified it.

Any input on these would be great, are the two wooden cameras I mentioned

really flimsy or not bad, does anyone have experience with Kbs jmc 810.

I am strictly landscape and have two lenses so far with my 4x5 outfit that I

believe will cover 8x10..A fuji 240 and A Goerz 355.

Happy Holidays!

www.ian-whitehead.com

Ian

I've considered the same thing. I saw a bunch at the View Camera Conference last year and the two that I liked the best were the Wehman and the Shen Hao (the one with the Philips-like rear focussing). They are both under $2000. They are very different cameras, though. Anyway, I'd add them to the list. A lot of folks rave about their Wehman. I don't think there are nearly as many Shen Hao's around.

I've owned three 8x10s, two Deardorffs and a Kodak 2D. The Kodak 2D is a very under-rated camera if you can find one with the rear extension and sliding tripod block. Its one downside is the lack of front tilt. That's not fatal, it does have back tilt, but if you're used to using front rather than back it takes some adjusting. Or you can do as I did and have Richard Ritter add front tilt for about $250. Then you have a great 8x10 camera for about $600 total.