7D Body Only

krishna_das2

<p>I recently got a 7D as a gift with the body only...i am very new to slr's and have used only an alpha for 3 days before it got stolen so could suggest me some lenses to start with.</p>

<p>I am mainly interested in portraits and objects in motion and not a big fan of macro.</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>You don't mention budget, but if you are at all stretched financially, the excellent, but cheap, EF-S 18-55mm IS lens is a good possibility. For twice as much money, you wouldn't come close to twice as good a lens. The nearly as cheap EF-S 55-250mm IS is another bargain for a second lens kit with the 18-55.<br>

I personally would find a 20 something to 70 something too restrictive for an APS-C body like yours. It would at its shortest end be only a 'normal' focal length.<br>

I'd personally get the EF-S 15-85mm IS lens which gives you a wide-angle to telephoto range on your camera. Unless you really need the f/2.8 for dark places, it will serve as an excellent all-purpose lens -- which is what it was designed to be.</p>

<p>Yes, another much cheaper low-light lens to consider is the EF 50mm f/1.8 - it looks cheap but is at least as durable in use as some of its more expensive brethern, and is very good optically on an APS-C body. f/1.8 or f/2 is really plenty fast with today's ISOs on a modern camera like yours.</p>

<p>+1 on the 15-85 (not 17-85)--it's a great all-around walk-around lens. However, it is heavy, slow, and expensive. And for portraits, you might want something faster for narrower depth of field.</p>

<p>I don't have the 50 f/1.8, but pairing that with the 15-85 makes sense to me--it gives you an incredibly cheap way to get a faster lens, at a focal length that is right on the money for portraits with a crop sensor camera.</p>

<p>I do candids of people mostly with a Tamron 28-75 f/2.8, but many people find 28 way to long for the narrow end of a walk around--it is normal, not wide, on a crop sensor.</p>