70mm questions

alan c.

hi, i'm new to the world of 70mm films...

first, are any B+W emulsions still available other than the perforated Plus-X

150 ft' Aero and the UNperforated Tri-X 100 ft'?

and is there any way to buy less than 18 or 36 rolls (at $100+ a roll) a time?!?

that's what B+H demands...

what is the practical difference between perforated and unperforated? the

Hasselblad back says that it uses perforated but can you use unperforated in it?

i plan to shoot it in a 70 back for Hasselblad and also in a friend's Combat

Graphic!

are the cassettes interchangeable from different makers? they all seem to hold

15 feet, and different companies made them --- just got some Linhof cassettes

for $7 each -- these will work in the Hasselblad back? or not?

what about bulk loaders? previous posts mention them but they're nowhere to be

found on the internet now....

what about 70mm movie film? will that work?

thank you in advance!

Alan,<br><br>I think you summed up the situation quite nivcely: very, very little choice in 70 mm film still available. And only in bulk.<br>It's not a good time (nor idea) to step into the world of 70 mm films. Too late.<br><br>Too late too to find bulk loaders. They are still around, but you already know how difficult they are to find.<br><br>Hasselblad 70 mm backs use a sprocket wheel, and you muust use perforated film. Some people have converted a 70 mm back, replacing the sprocket with a smooth rubber wheel. But i don't know how well (or not) that works.<br><br>The cassettes are interchangeable. The 'Linhof' cassettes (probably from Kodak) work in Hasselblad backs.<br><br>Movie film emulsions are different (aerial film emulsions are too, by the way). You may not like them.<br>The perforation of movie film may not be the one needed too.<br>And don't think they are easier to find and buy.

The only 70mm perf film that is readily available is C41 Portra.