I am a profesisonal photographer from Switzerland. I am

looking for a medium format camera. I love the 2:3 ratio and would

want to get a 6 x 9. Being busy with snaphot-type work, I am

interested in rangefinder / reflex cameras (no bellows, no rails,

etc).

To my knowledge there is the fujinon and the mamiya 67, which is a 6x7

however. It would be stupid to purchase a 6x7 knowing that I would

crop my images and loose image surface. The problem I have with the

Fujinon is the absence of lens interchangeability.

So my questions to the forum are (I do not want them to be sound

"product a vs product b", but do not know how to formulate them in

another way):

1. are there other 6x9 rangefinder cameras of this type available on

the market ? heard of the alpa and horseman but believe these are

bellow-type view cameras.

2. how do the optics of the mamiya and the fujinon rate, in your

experience ?

3. if you happen to know american photographers philip lorca dicorcia

and allan sekula, who work with medium format in 2:3 ratio, does

anyone have a clue as to which equipment they are using ?

Looking forward to your tips. Thanks a lot in advance.

Marco Poloni

Check the Horseman wide angle camera, can take 6x9 backs, other possibility is the new ALPA SWA, can take 6x9 backs too (but it is really expensive). The Horseman can use Rodenstock (sp?) lenses, the ALPA can take Rodenstock and Schneider (sp?) lenses for that format. With both cameras you need to guess the focus and use an external meter.

You can find info. here:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com

http://www.alpa.ch/alpa/alpa12.html

Jorge Saravia

Visit <a href="http://www.smu.edu/~rmonagha/mf/index.html"> http://www.smu.edu/~rmonagha/mf/index.html</a> and go from there to Danny Gonzalesez'(sp?) reviews. This will help you narrow your search.<p>