5D Mark II ir 7D

jacqui valdivia

<p>This is a "if you were me" question. I am a wedding portrait photographer, and am currently rather slow, but I am planning to ramp up. My 30D (my back up) just broke so now I am contemplating.. if you were me would you get the 5D Mark II hope that business picks up and I have the camera I planning on getting eventually.. or would you buy the 7D which makes a great back up for the time being till business picks up?</p>

<p>Thanks for your help!</p>

<p>Leaning 7D. Even though many will argue the 5DII, it seems like it will have the same sensor size that you are currently working with which is important for your lens kit-plus, we don't know how long "eventually" means-by then a more suitable alternative may have been announced or even released. Not sure what you are using for your primary, but chances are the 7D could fill that slot as well, unless it's a more recent 1 series.</p>

<p>If you were shooting sports or birds, I'd say go with the 7D because of the faster frame rate and tweaked AF. But landscapes, portraits, weddings and macro are all about IQ. I shoot with both the 5D2 and 7D, and 5D2 IQ is a level better than the 7D, a significant factor for big prints. The huge VF is a plus too. </p>

Sometimes the light’s all shining on me. Other times I can barely see.

- Robert Hunter

<p>I have an older 5D, but if I were in your shoes right now, I'd go for the 7D. Even if you eventually go to a larger sensor, it will remain a useful camera with many advantages, including longer reach for your lenses.</p>

<p>In hard times, it's better to be cautious. You might want to think about a used or refurbished body instead of a new camera right now.</p>