50D or XSi?

laura_brugger

<p>I am a beginner in the photography world (I have worked with a 35mm, but it's been awhile). I have been

trying to decide between going with the beginning level XSi or jumping into the more advanced 50D. I will be

traveling with this camera on occassion...especially within the next few years...so the main reason I am even looking

at the XSi is because of the weight. I am really keen on the control setup on the 50D, but it is a bit

heavy...which I feel I would grow accustomed to anyway. I am a small female, but I am pretty strong so I was

thinking the 50D won't be too much of a problem. What do you guys think? I am going to the

store this coming week to really play around with the two cameras and see what I think of each of them so maybe I

can get a better idea that way. I just thought you guys could give me some of the pros and cons (from a users

perspective) of each of these cameras. Thanks for your help.</p>

<p>Personally I would go for the 50D as I would really think that this camera is more camera for your money. I personally wouldnt go for the XSi (nothing against the camera) as I would consider that a more entry level meaning I might out grow it a lot faster than if I got the 50D.</p>

<p>If the cost was a factor - then the XSi. But yes, go in and handle them both to see how they feel. Who knows - the XSi might just feel better in your hands.</p>

<p>Do a side by side comparison of the two models. Maybe the extras that the 50D has isnt worth it to you but at the same time, think about the future - will you outgrow the XSi or no?</p>

<p>They are both fine cameras.<br /> Here is the Canon EOS Rebel XSi:<br /> http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/542177-REG/Canon_2756B001_EOS_Rebel_XSi_a_k_a_.html<br /> I see the body weighs in at 16.8 ounces, while the 50D weighs 25.7 ounces.</p>