45mm f2 Rokkor MD

yunus_emre_demirel

I am new to photography and i found a minolta x-700 with 45mm f/2 MD

rokkor lens in mint condition and good price. I could reach a lot of

information about minolta X-700 body but i couldn't find any

information about its lens. The only information that i know Rokkor

45 f/2 MD lens is a pancake lens.What can you tell me about these

lens,its advantages and disadvantages ? Where can i use it properly ?

What is the difference between 50mm and 45mm lens? Thanks for any

information.

Easily the best value in a pancake lens. Most of the others - Pentax, Olympus, Nikon - are grossly overpriced compared with their performance. The Minolta version may be a bit plasticky but the glass is fine.

Overall Minolta is a great system to get into. Not only were the Rokkors of excellent quality but their bargain line of Celtic lenses were outstanding values as well.

Some folks will argue that the 40-45mm focal length is actually closer to a "normal" lens for the 35mm format but the difference is negligible. Enjoy it for its own merits.

The Rokker 45mm is the second sharpest lens I own, right beind the Micro Nikkor. But it is 1 to 2 stops faster, and has a smoother quality (because of the four element Tessar type formula?)to the images than the Micro Nikkor. Great all around lens, suitable for just about everything, except portraits for which you will need something longer, ie. 85-135mm. A real gem of a lens that more people should try. Gary Gilliam Sumerduck VA

I am not sure what you mean with a "pancake lens". It is 30,5 mm long, the 50 mm f/1.7 MD lens is 36 mm.

The formula is 6 elements in 5 groups modified Gauss-type.

The main differences compared to the 50 mm MD lenses are:

Close fucusing distance 0,6 m instead of 0,45 m.

Single coating instead of multi coating.