32 GB CF card...

Will my 1Ds MK II read it and use it as 32 GB ? So, far, the highest one I used

was 8 GB. Do I need a firmwire upgrade ? Is one available ?

Planning to buy a couple. Any suggestions ? A Data built quality is terrible

from my experience . Never used PNY/Transcend etc. I normally use Sandisk and

Lexar ( 8 GB )

Any user of a 32 GB CF on 1Ds MK II ? Suggestions please!

thanks

Swapan

I have no experience of these very large cards but my advice (for what it is worth) is use several smaller cards. Not only is it cheaper but in the event of a card problem your losses will be less.

The main issue is to have a strict routine for handling lots of cards so you do not overwrite shots you have just taken.

I'm not ready to go for 32GB cards yet, but there are downsides to the smaller cards as

well. The odds that you'll lose a card increase as you add more cards. I'd be willing to bet

that it is far more likely that you'll lose _some_ cards/photos if you carry around a ton of 2

GB cards than if you carry one or two large cards.

It is important to reformat cards in camera between use and to be very careful about

offloading and backing up card data.

32 GB seems like a bit too much at this point. I don't know how it works out on your

camera, but on my 5D I can store well over 400 RAW images on a 8GB card. If your files

are a bit larger, 32 GB would still likely hold something like 1500-1600 files or more.

Dan

I use the Sandisk Extreme III 16 GB and haven't yet run into a capacity limitation. Also, the only time I've lost data on a CF card is when I was using a Hitachi Microdrive. I've had the Ultra II in 2GB, 4GB, and 8GB capacities, also, without problems. Having said that, I'm not aware of whether or not a 32 GB card would work in your scenario.