3 cheers for professionals!

christian_stahl

3 cheers for professional photographers!

As a musician, I'm eager to have a lot of photos for PR uses - pictures of my projects, for the media, or for showing people where we're

playing, for CD covers, publications about the instruments we play, etc. - so I got a Nikon D40x (with the kit lens) using it in a

"point-and-

shoot"-way for picture of/after concerts, the location, and so on (as can be seen here:

http://web.mac.com/stahlchristian/Duo_La_Vigna/Blog/Blog.html)

Comparing it to pictures of colleges from Danmark, who had a shooting with a professional, I was shoked at the difference in quality! See

for yourselves: http://gallery.mac.com/stahlchristian#100152&view=mosaic&bgcolor=black&sel=3 (The "der Weinberg" picture was taken

with an old analog SLR; "Duo al dente" are the professional's, but do I really have to tell ...)

(We have a lot of photographers taking pictures for newpapers at concerts/events, so - just to make clear I'm not making professionals

poor, and I really appreciate their work, but can't afford to have as many pictures taken as I want). I got the Nikon instead of the used

Hasselblad I favored, because of the 500 タ less in price and the "point-and-shoot" capacity of the Nikon.

My question: How can I considerably increase the Nikon's image quality?

I am shooting RAW, using Capture NX 2 for conversion. I shoot the "no black", "Duo La Vigna", "Bitte Lächeln" pics with ISO 800. I have

learned meanwhile to use automatic ISO and use exporsure compensation to make the picture lighter.

I was quite surprised at the professional (Anders Bach) using a slow shutter (1/6;1/15) with aperture f/9.0 and with ISO 200 and focal length

93/98 (obviously a zoom); camera being a Canon EOS-1DS.

I know a D40 is not an EOS, but just to get that fuzziness out of my pictures and move a little closer to better pictures would be "really

cool" - suggestions welcome!

1. Lots of practice