20d vs 350d, hoping to do some higher-speed stuff

kbroderick

<p>I'm trying to decide on the 350d vs the 20d. I can't afford either, so I'm hemming and

hawing on the $300-400 difference...</p>

<ol>

<li>Yes, I've read as many reviews as I could get my hands on (here, including Bob Atkin's

20d vs 350d article, dpreview.com, megalpixel, et al).</li>

<li>I've had limited photo experience, due largely to never owning a camera (when I took

a photo class I borrowed an AE-10, fwiw)</li>

<li>I'm a geek, so I like toys...er, tools...that have all sorts of controls, and I strongly

suspect that I'd want to put a real lens on any camera I bought sooner or later. For this

reason, I want to go SLR.</li>

<li>Two of my other interests are skiing and auto racing. I can't afford really getting into

the latter, so I'd like to be able to shoot photos of them. Skiing is particularly tough

because, in addition to high speeds at an actual ski race (30-40 MPH plus), lighting

conditions can be quite interesting. I was at a <a href="http://

www.maineforestrally.com">car rally in Maine</a> last weekend, and the combination of

scenery to and from there and the desire to shoot cars as they came through have

convinced me to go out and actually buy a camera.</li>

<li>My girlfriend is actually a photographer (currently doing photo work part time until

she can get enough cash doing it to go full time), and she is currently shooting with a

60D; she may get a 20d in the relatively near future, but probably not soon enough for me

to acquire her 60d. She is, of course, engaged in ongoing investment in lenses.</li>

</ol>

<p>If it weren't for (4), I'd have ordered a 350D already; (5) gives me a large incentive to

stick with Canon, as I can borrow lenses from my girlfriend (not to mention knowledge).

The sticking points on the 350d vs 20d seem to be

<ul>

<li>speed -- the 20d can buffer and record shots a lot faster than the 350d</li>