20D a suitable backup body for 7D?

jaydesi

<p>I'm just an enthusiastic hobbyist, but I'd like to have a backup digital body for my 7D, just in case, because I try to take at least a few pictures every day (I have a Rebel XS 35mm body that I'd rather not use). I'd rather not spend very much on this extra body, since I don't expect it to be used except in a pinch, or if I can convince my wife to use it instead of her P&S. To that end, I was thinking about picking up a used 20D, since they seem to be running in the $200-$250 range.</p>

<p>My only concern is that the 20D is several generations older, and may prove frustrating to use after being accustomed to the 7D...but even the 30D is about double the price, used, which I can't really justify. So maybe that answers my question, in a way...so maybe what I really want to know is whether it's even worth having the backup body at all, if the 20D is my spending limit.</p>

<p>Thanks for your opinions!</p>

<p>Yes.</p>

<p>I have a 20D and 40D as backups to my new 7D.</p>

<p>The controls are a bit different, but not so much that I can't pick my my 20D and start shooting right away. The biggest problem for me is the change in the location of the "AF-start" operation from the "*" button on the 20D to the "AF-Start" button on the 7D (but I have my 7D controls mapped so the "*" and "AF-Start" buttons do the same thing!).</p>

<p>I just upgraded from the 20D to the 7D late last year. Certainly, as soon as I'd played with the 7D, the 20D seemed outdated. But that's a feeling more than a rational comment. My 20D took a lot of really good pictures for me over the years, and a used 20D in good condition is perfectly capable of doing the same for you. Since it's a backup body, it's basically for occasional/emergency use, and I think the 20D will do the job just fine.</p>