200-400 vs 80-400

w._douglas_lewis

Yes - about 3,300 quid here in the UK!!!

Seriously though, I recently bought the 80-400VR to use on a D80.

I am absolutely delighted with this lens - despite all the disparaging remarks about it's focus speed etc in these columns! I am finding it more than adequate for bird photography etc, and I find little difference in focusing between it and the 105VR speed wise! I've even used it with a Kenko 2x with adequate results, albeit with reduced speed. (as an ex pro I'm still able to turn a ring to focus a lens manually if the need arises)

Far more important than lens choice is your own ability to take a decent photo.

Nick.

ps if still tempted with the 200-400, I suggest you work out how long you could hire it for, for the difference in money!

I use to own the 80-400 and found for film use it was very sharp across the frame up to about 300 mm. At 400 mm, image quality was good centrally but only fair outside the central zone even when stopped down. Digital cameras will do better with the crop factor removing much of the soft outer zones. The 200-400 will be sharper at the long end compared to the 80-400, takes the TC-14E II, has AF-S for better AF performance and of course is a stop faster. It's size and price limits it to pro use unless you are a serious amatuer with deep pockets that shoots a lot of birds and wildlife.

I would expect a significant difference through the entire range, from the many photos I've seen posted. The 80-400 always looks fairly marginal to me, while the 200-400 has downright amazing sharpness. No contest... the 200-400mm wins hands down.