2 conversations

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by weasel_bar, Jan 28, 2004.

1. I overheard a conversation recently between 2 docs at the hospital
    where I'm a student. One was telling the other how, with the advent
    of digital, the focus of photography has changed completely.
    Composition is no longer important, because you can fix it with
    photoshop. Learning to use photoshop is much more important than pre-
    exposure techniques. <br>
    2 days later, my friend saw a waterfall photo I had scanned from a
    velvia slide, taken with my canon ae-1. He didnt like the bluish
    cast from the evening light and the film's tone (which I intended),
    so he told me I should have adjusted the "white balance on my camera"
    (which was made in 1979). <br>
    Do people view photography as largely graphic design now? It
    depresses me that many people, even ones who view themselves as
    photographers, don't care about lighting, focus, depth of field,
    shutter speed, because they're going to fix all of these post-
    exposure. I'm not really interested in snapping a frame and then
    spending 6 hours screwing around with blurring filters and rgb
    correction. I'd rather sit by the waterfall for hours and figure out
    what weather, time of day, focal length, and shutter speed I want to
    use.

2. It almost sounds as though you feel that your preference (sitting by the waterfall..) is more noble than the alternative (Spending 6 hours screwing around...). If that is what you think, why do you think so?

If you are just expressing a preference, it's a bit like saying that you don't understand all those people who like vanilla, when what you like is chocolate.

3. It is the craftsmanship that matters, not the time....

...and it is 'nobler', not 'more noble'...