2 conversations

I overheard a conversation recently between 2 docs at the hospital

where I'm a student. One was telling the other how, with the advent

of digital, the focus of photography has changed completely.

Composition is no longer important, because you can fix it with

photoshop. Learning to use photoshop is much more important than pre-

exposure techniques. <br>

2 days later, my friend saw a waterfall photo I had scanned from a

velvia slide, taken with my canon ae-1. He didnt like the bluish

cast from the evening light and the film's tone (which I intended),

so he told me I should have adjusted the "white balance on my camera"

(which was made in 1979). <br>

Do people view photography as largely graphic design now? It

depresses me that many people, even ones who view themselves as

photographers, don't care about lighting, focus, depth of field,

shutter speed, because they're going to fix all of these post-

exposure. I'm not really interested in snapping a frame and then

spending 6 hours screwing around with blurring filters and rgb

correction. I'd rather sit by the waterfall for hours and figure out

what weather, time of day, focal length, and shutter speed I want to

use.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It almost sounds as though you feel that your preference (sitting by the waterfall..) is more noble than the alternative (Spending 6 hours screwing around...). If that is what you think, why do you think so?

If you are just expressing a preference, it's a bit like saying that you don't understand all those people who like vanilla, when what you like is chocolate.

What it boils down to is that there's not necessarily any virtue in doing things the difficult way. If it makes you happy, do it, but don't complain when someone does in 60 seconds what took you 6 hours.

Some people value "hand crafting", others value the final result and don't care how it was done.