2,000 UK photographers protest against police stop and search

The police kept a low profile.

At one point a community support officer tried chasing someone and was told off for it by a photographer (there's a shot of

it in the set). But it was all very good natured and as you can see, people were able to photograph each other in peace.

<p>I guess there is strength in numbers, especially when the press is there. If two photographers had tried it, there may have been a different outcome.</p>

<p>It's about time though. Seems like the UK police are even worse than the US police when it comes to harassment of photographers. </p>

<p>I think that one guy in the fluorescent vest holding a sign "I am a photographer, not a terrorist" might have been a little more convincing had he not worn that silly mask. Real terrorists often wear something to cover their face. He did not help himself out with that choice</p>

<p><em>It's very commonly seen at street protests.</em></p>

<p>That's an additional problem. Whether observers know about "V for Vendetta" or not, it can cause a perceived association with other protests which are often identified with radical views and rowdy behavior. Not exactly helpful considering the message is to portray photographers as normal, mainstream, law abiding and undeserving of special scrutiny. It seems to have been a positive event, however, because the participants in general showed themselves and their issue as mainstream. Wearing a lot of masks like that would have been ruinous to the event. Steve was right.<em> </em></p>