180mm f/2.8 ED - well worth the praise!

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by Ian Rance, Aug 9, 2009.

1. As I mentioned in my previous thread, I picked up one of these from a charity shop. I know that this lens is highly regarded and it was only after I had my roll back from the hour service that I realised HOW nice it really is.
    The sharpness, colour and contrast are first rate - and the bokeh is smooth too! Now, I am totally new to this lens, but if anyone cares too offer some guidance on its use (what apertures are best and anything to look out for in its useage) I am always appreciative.
    I attach a photp from my first roll - nothing thrilling, but I am pleased with the lens for sure.
    00UAem-163427584.JPG

2. Thom Hogan calls the optics of the 180mm "stunning." Do you have the AF or AF-D version?

3. Best aperture? For portraits I generally use it wide open or stopped down to f/4, tops. While I'm not a serious bokeh addict and normally prefer to stop down for maximum sharpness, the 180/2.8 is a charm wide open. It's almost a shame not to use it that way.
    For details and closeups, f/8-f/11. Give it a try with an extension tube. It's a remarkably good lens for closeups. I use my pre-AI 180/2.8 with the M2 extension tube that came with my 55/3.5 Micro Nikkor, which is the only way I can use the 180/2.8 on my D2H and FM2N. Even with razor thin DOF the results are great, as long as the composition and subject matter are worthwhile.
    The attached photo is a 1:1 crop.
    00UAgx-163449584.jpg

4. This lens is a gem. I bought one used for $245 last year and it was money well-spent. There have been some threads here recently in which Nikon's pro zooms have been recommended over primes, but I haven't used a zoom yet that can compare to the 180's performance. It is just superb.